Sperm Whale by Ainara

We were sailing from Komodo to Lombok and the sun was high up.

Komodo to Bali.004

There was no wind and you could hear the sails flapping from one side to the other, so we decided to pull it down and turned the engine on.

Dad was standing outside when he suddenly saw a big spout in the horizon.

Komodo diving - 21

We all went out and suddenly saw a second one. We slowly approached it and realized it was a whales blow. We were all really exited when we noticed that the blow was coming side ways.

I was certain that is was a Sperm Whale!  I could not believe it! I had not seen a Sperm Whale on this trip , and now it was there, a few hundred meters away! (although it was not the first time!)

When I was 5 we were sailing to Menorca an island in the Balearic Islands (Spain)

with my grandfathers boat Jadic, when we saw a pot of Sperm Whales. My Parents told Luna and me that we were amazed (Noa and Nils were not born yet) but of course I can only remember it from the pictures so I was really happy to see another one which I could probably remember my whole life.

I was jumping from one side to the other when we saw its back floating on the surface. It was sleeping so Dad and me jumped into the water to have a closer look at her. It was all so fast that I incidentally put my Mum’s and Luna’s fin on, instead of mine (We all three have the same type of flippers)

Dad and me swam closer and there she was!

She woke up and looked at us with her beautiful big eye. I could see this rough skin and her amazing strength. She was slowly disappearing into the blue of the ocean and the last think I saw was her eye, looking at us.

Komodo diving - 20

 

I was overwhelmed by feelings. It was such a powerful animal and yet so beautiful. These animals had been there for thousands of years, had seen things that none of us could ever imagine, had gotten out of being extinct because of the Whalers, and today they were still here for us to admire.

We started swimming back to the boat and I couldn’t believe what I had just seen.

Whales are just amazing animals!

6 thoughts on “Sperm Whale by Ainara

  1. svbrightwater June 17, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    “It was sleeping so Dad and me jumped into the water to have a closer look at her.”

    Of course you did. The sailors from Lumbaz are well known for being the bravest sailors in the world. Many dictionaries have replaced the words “Bold” and “Fearless” with “Lumbazian.”

    • Lumbaz June 17, 2016 / 10:11 pm

      We had to laugh, googled for lumbazian and could only find entries about lumbago, lumbalgia and lumbazine.

  2. Michael Robertson June 18, 2016 / 7:43 am

    Nice post! We just saw the Lumbaz entry in a cruiser’s café in Ha’apai, Tonga–thought of you guys. Stay well!

  3. Roman June 20, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    This is a beautiful experience, brilliantly narrated!! Congratulations Ainara, go on writing so well!
    Roman Vilaclara

  4. dickweit September 17, 2016 / 2:27 am

    Ainara, you are definitely your mothers daughter!! Ask her about her reaction when we went whale watching off if Cape Cod. She was about the same age as you are now!

  5. Ana September 27, 2016 / 12:23 am

    Bravo Ainara. Reading yor narrations about Ornagutans, Sperm Whales, is very exciting. You´ve got a talent. Congratulations

Leave a Reply

